Story endings, story beginnings

Our Christmas tree, 2009

Dismantling Christmas.  Ugh.

It’s a time of the year I dread.  Gone are the Christmas carols, the parties, the heady visions of dancing sugar plums.  The mysteries of the presents have been revealed, and it’s time to take down the tree.

Intentionally or coincidentally, my daughters are most often busy when this time arrives.  Alone, I bravely ascend the stairs to our “Christmas room” with the storage boxes.

I prefer working with Christmas music.  This year, my selections were “Cast in Bronze: The Bells of Christmas” (Frank DellaPenna) and “Rudolph the Red-nosed Reindeer.” I bought the bell CD after hearing this amazing music in the clear summer air and mountains at the Renaissance Festival, so it brought cheer to the dreary chore.

The Rudolph CD features children’s voices and reminds me of the many concerts and shows we attended, hearing our daughters sing when they were younger. These songs made me smile.

Halfway through this task, it occurred to me that I was not dismantling Christmas. In reality, I was placing the ornaments carefully and lovingly into their storage containers, tying the light cords neatly, all in preparation of *next* Christmas.  Come December, 2010, the “future me” will appreciate the “present me”for all the love and thoughtfulness I invested in storing everything so, come that distant December night when the whole family gathers with egg nog and Christmas songs to decorate the tree, it will be a pleasant, uncomplicated experience.

I wasn’t dismantling.  I was actually preparing for Christmas.

Life is amazing.  Just when we think we’re ending, we’re beginning.

This is a good story idea to add to my file.

Wishing you a new year of fresh story ideas and happy beginnings.

3 Comments

Filed under Family, The Writing Life

3 responses to “Story endings, story beginnings

  1. What a great way to look at it. I have to begin preparing for next Christmas some time this week too. I think I will approach it differently now.

  2. Thanks for your comment, and for dropping by, Kerrie. Happy Christmas 2010!

  3. I just discovered your blog while searching for some songs and videos. The layout is quite wonderful and I must appreciate the effort you do in posting useful stuff here, thank you mate.

Leave a Reply

