Write consistently – “Steady Eddy!”

Develop a safety net of strategies to keep your writing and marketing efforts focused and consistent

Develop a safety net of strategies to keep your writing and marketing efforts focused and consistent

I’m running on two few cylinders today.  It could be I’m just recovering from an ear and throat infection.  It could also be my hectic schedule, all the hustle and bustle of our annual conference, then relatives visiting from out of town, a big chunk of positive stress as we try to force 30 hours of fun into 24.  Whatever the reasons, I’m dragging.

I have two safety nets against “drag.”  One is my weekly soup writing session, which keeps me in position to write new material.  The other is my bi-monthly goal group.  Two times a month, we agree to “meet” daily for ten days in a row.  We set Winner Goals, based on Margie Lawson’s Defeating Self-Defeating Behavior course material.

The key to success is consistency.  Cecil B. DeMille said this:
“Most of us serve our ideals by fits and starts. The person who makes a success of living is one who sees his goal steadily and aims for it unswervingly. That’s dedication.”

This message reminds me of Alice, a tennis player I know.  She’s a level above me in skill, and it’s always fun to play with her, on HER side of the net, LOL.  Her mantra when she’s getting behind in the score:  she chants, “Steady Eddy.  Steady Eddy.”  To her, that means not whaling on the ball, trying to force a point by winning on brilliance, because she’s currently not connecting with those shots and is instead losing the point by trying for too much.  Her “Steady Eddy” chant tells her to calm down, get the ball in, and play consistently, instead of fitfully.

I think Alice and Cecil are saying the same thing.

What helps you stay consistent with your writing?  What strategy/ies work best for you?

2 Comments

Filed under get published, success techniques, The Writing Life, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Write consistently – “Steady Eddy!”

  1. Good morning, Janet. I’m passing on the Honest Scrap award today to a few of the bloggers I follow who post from the heart. You are one of those bloggers. I’m at http://patriciastoltey.blogspot.com

    Best wishes,
    Pat

  2. redplume

    Pat, you honor me. Thank you for the lovely gesture. I will be thinking of worthy bloggers and compiling my list of ten honest things about myself. Best wishes with your newest mystery release!

Leave a Reply

