Mother’s Day Poem for Mother-in-law

Is your mother-in-law a gem? My poem may be perfect for you, and for for her.

Is your mother-in-law a gem? My poem may be perfect for you, and for for her.

I posted a Mother’s Day poem yesterday, and I’ve received requests for a mother-in-law Mother’s Day poem.  I adore my mother-in-law, Dot, so it was a pleasure to sit back and reflect on the many wonderful memories we’ve shared since I first met her. With the spirit and energy of beagles, she and I have tracked garage sales, mall sales and auctions. We’ve savored our bargains, compared recipes, cooked together, danced together, laughed and cried together.  Dot even helped me plan one of my book signings in Florida, and I was able to meet her wonderful Woman’s Club friends.

If you’re like me and are fortunate enough to have a beloved mother-in-law, please feel free to put my poem to the paper of your choice for a Mother’s Day card this year.

To Dot and to all moms – Happy Mother’s Day!

I have fabulous memories like this one, when my mother-in-law, Dot, helped me plan a book signing in Florida.

I have fabulous memories like this one, when my mother-in-law, Dot, helped me plan a book signing in Florida.

With Love to My Mother-in-Law
by Janet Lane

A visit by phone to share the news
An e-mail you send to inform and amuse
A leisurely visit with coffee or tea
A richly amusing shopping spree
We share so much, I’m ever so thankful
To find a soul sister so warm, so delightful
My marriage brought a huge dividend
Wonderful you, who became my friend
So on this day made for mothers’ bliss
I send my thanks, a hug and a kiss
For all the joys you’ve sent my way
I wish you a happy Mother’s Day!

Did you like this poem?  Will you use it on a card to your mother-in-law?  What do you love about her?  Feel free to share by clicking on the “o comments” or “comments” line below.

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Poem to Mom, The Writing Life

Leave a Reply

