The joy of getting published

Signing Pam's copy of my debut novel in Omaha

Signing Pam's copy of my debut novel in Omaha

Thanks to Michelle Reynoso who asked, “How many people do you know who said I should write a book…”

Most of us have been inspired to write about our lives, our loves, our trials.  The world could learn much from each of us.  In the pursuit of reaching “The End,” however, a writer discovers that three or four hundred empty pages present a daunting challenge.  For those hale and committed enough to reach that finish line, the ordeal of getting published is yet another topic worthy of its own novel.

Thinking of all my friends who have accepted these challenges, I reflected on my own experience and came up with this insight to share today:

Nothing but my wedding and the birth of my children surpassed the joy of holding my first published book in my hand.  Nothing but my wedding and the birth of my children surpassed the commitment in time, love and energy I devoted to holding my first published book in my hand.”

If you’ve reached “The End” and/or been published, was  it that big of an accomplishment to you?

1 Comment

Filed under The Writing Life

One response to “The joy of getting published

  1. Janet-

    Thanks for the reference in your blog (and the link to my blog).

    -Michelle

Leave a Reply

