Lifting our faces to life – risk-taking

A sudden downpour inspired this lovely young woman to soak up the elements at this past weekend's Keystone Jazz Festival

A sudden downpour inspired this beautiful music lover to soak up the elements at this past weekend's Keystone Jazz Festival

Photo opportunities come when you least expect them, and I stumbled into this gem at last weekend’s Keystone Jazz Festival.  I admired this woman’s zest for life and her natural reaction to the rain.  Falling in late afternoon, the sun slanted into the pavillion from the west, golden sunshine that made the cascading droplets of water sparkle as they slid down the curved edges of the tent.  Outside, the rain had let up to a sparkling drizzle.  I didn’t capture the golden rays of sun from this angle because I was fighting for a straight shot through a dozen other photographers, but I captured her mood and the splashing raindrops. 

     Her spirit of adventure inspired me, reminded me that we harbor too many inhibitions in life; that letting go can provide more of the special moments in our lives, the “nows” that arrive unexpectedly, a surprise gift that we often refuse because we don’t want to get wet, run our mascara, ruin our hair–our freedom cut short by other’s expectations instead of our own good instincts.  She had more fun that day than I did.  🙂  

     This is the kind of adventure I like to capture in my novels.  My protagonists are more adventurous than me, more spontaneous, less fearful.  Fiction is great fun because we can take more chances.  What kind of risk-taking have you savored in fiction, spontaneous actions you wish you could do in real life?  Have you lifted your face to the rain since childhood?  Something to think about when the showers come again.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

